About Us

2020-2021 MSMP Executive Board.
Pictured left to right:
Back row (MS2) :  Eileen Chen, Jenna Maligro, Drew Matsuura, Joshua Mostales, Eryn Nakashima, Sharon Wong

Front row (MS1):  Peggy Su, Erica Shin, Sam Zuro, Shirley Cheng, Anna Gragas, Kellie Goya

Founded in 2002, the Medical Student Mentorship Program (MSMP) is a student-run organization that pairs current medical students John A. Burns School of Medicine with undergraduate students interested in pursuing a career in medicine. Through these pairings, our goal is to help foster relationships between undergraduates and medical students and faculty. Over the years, we have paired more than 600 mentees with medical student mentors via an extensive matching process. Mentor-mentee pairs contact each other regularly and participate in a variety of activities throughout the year.

Organizational Goals
  • To facilitate and guide students through the application process of medical school.
  • To develop and maintain a formal medical student mentoring program at the John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM).
  • To foster mentoring relationships between undergraduates interested in pursuing a career in medicine and current JABSOM medical students.
Executive Board
MS1 Members Shirley Cheng, Peggy Su, Anna Gragas, Kellie Goya, Erica Shin, Sam Zuro
MS2 Members Drew Matsuura, Eryn Nakashima, Sharon Wong, Joshua Mostales, Jenna Maligro, Eileen Chen
MS3 Members Andy Hwang, Weston McCue, Aiko Murakami, Darin Poei, Ken Stridiron, Cindy Vuong
MS4 Members Wakako Horiuchi, Pi’i Kackley, Lea Lacar, Gabriel Monti, Reese Suzuki, Chase Warashina
Faculty Advisor Dr. Ivy Nip Asano, Director of Admissions and Assistant Professor of Medicine